Forgive Me

Recently, a reoccurrence of a childhood ritual has been tumbling around in my head.

Having been raised Catholic, and attending a parochial private school, every Wednesday I was expected to squeeze into a wooden confessional, slide the small door open that revealed a mesh screen with a figure on the other side, and confess all my sins to the priest. To say I dreaded Wednesdays as a result, would be a gross understatement.

As I rattled off the introduction of my confession, I scrambled to come up with my list of sins. This block was not a result of purity, rather the fear of telling the truth and revealing my true self to the priest. Truly, I felt it was an act of mortification not confession.

I’m certain, at this point you are wondering what this anecdote has to do with your children, well, I have been feeling the need to confess my sins to you.

“Forgive me parents, for I have sinned, the last time I wrote a blog post was early February…”

All I can say in my defense is that my absence is a result of attending to the needs of your children. I hope you absolve me from my sins.

Today, the class kicked off the Two Writing Teachers‘ “Slice of Life Classroom Challenge“. Your children have set up a personal blog in which they can express their autonomy and creativity as budding writers. As blogs provide a platform in which a writer can engage with an authentic audience, joining the Slice of Life challenge presents an opportunity to reach out to other young authors around the world.

Every day in the month of March, students are required to post a slice of their life. This slice can be from the past or present. The ‘slice’ can be in the form of a memoir, anecdote, journal entry, opinion piece, poem…basically, whatever suits the author’s fancy.

As writing is a form of self-expression, this is a perfect opportunity for students to try on their voice and shout out to the world what they want it to hear. This is an opportunity to change the world with their words.

“You can change your world by changing your words…Remember, death and life are in the power of the tongue.   ~ Joel Osteen

To support the students, I too am taking part in the Slice of Life , which means I have to write along side the students every day. This is a challenge on many levels. I love to write, but I am a slow writer that agonizes over every word. I will have to learn to write more fluently. Also, I love to conference with students, but in order for me to model myself as a writer, I will have to fit conferencing in at another time. Although not ideal, I feel these bumps and bruises are worth the end result – producing motivated, passionate writers.

If interested in what your child is blogging about, please visit our classroom blog, Wonderland. The home page of the blog, features my blatherings. The sidebar on the right features student blogs. Simply scroll down to find your child’s name and click on the link to read their voice. Everyone loves an audience, so if you have time, please feel free to leave a comment on a post of your child’s blog.

Thank you for your continued support in developing the young minds of the world.

3 thoughts on “Forgive Me

  1. I thank you for your commitment and forgive you for your sins!, if sins are being a super teacher who has time constraints. I am very grateful for your dedication, my daughter would not have strived to be better in English (sorry humanities ) and now wants to be an editor and will probably do something in that line, and my son would not have respect for you and be beyond excited for Malaysia week.

Leave a Reply

